08
Jul
09

Among Old Friends

Lately I’ve noticed that I’m starting to spend less and less time with my friends. It’s not that I don’t miss them; it’s just that we do not seem to have matching free times anymore. Ah, time. In my past article Money, Time, and Energy, I mentioned that among people in the second stage in life (when you have the money and energy but not the time), “…time is the most precious commodity because it is the scarcest. Oftentimes we are much more willing to part with our money than to give of our time.”

But what I find rather disconcerting is that back when I was more than a decade younger, we were already busy with our jobs but still managed to get together about twice a week; now, we’d be lucky if we can share a drink once in two months. And we are just as busy with our jobs and businesses now. Well, we can consider the fact that most of my friends already have their own families, but I think for my part I no longer have that youthful energy I had in my twenties when I could go out at night, come home in the wee hours of the morning, and then work tirelessly and effectively the following day even without power naps. Then go out at night again, repeating the pattern for up to three consecutive nights at a time. Now…well let’s just say that now I have to schedule my night outs during weekends and holidays.

I miss my friends. I miss their individual virtues as well as their quirks. I miss the people who knew me when I was young. Most of all, I miss the warm company, that cozy feeling when one is among old friends.

I remember a line from a song about sunscreen:

Understand that friends come and go, but for the precious few you
should hold on. Work hard to bridge the gaps in geography and
lifestyle because the older you get, the more you need the people you
knew when you were young.

Leave a Reply

Attempts at uncovering the underlying simplicity beneath apparently complex concepts as well as the core complexity within seemingly straightforward issues

http://twitter.com/innerminds

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


